the macrophotography 365 challenge

Well, hello there 2013!  You’re so bright and shiny and new!macropost1

One of the main goals that I’m striving towards this year is improving my photography skills.  Even with the small amount of practice I gained in the last year, I think my photos are much improved from those that I initially took at the beginning of last January.  I’ve been reading many other blogs discussing 365 projects where you choose a subject and then try to take a photograph a day related to it.  So I’m going to try that with my subject being nature & macrophotography.  The only way I’m going to get better at photography is practice, practice, practice and this project will hopefully motivate me to do just that.  Now, I already know with my schedule I’m not going to be able to take a photo a day.  Many days will be spent traveling or in the lab anxiously awaiting my PCR results.  So my goal is to take 365 pictures – one for each day- but not necessarily spaced out one per day.  If I take seven photos that I’m content with in one day, those seven will all count towards the goal.

The rules are simple:

1.  Only pictures taken in 2013 apply.

2.  A set of 365 macrophotographs will be compiled throughout the year.

So what do you think?  Can I do this?  If you’re interested in macrophotography, I encourage you to join me in this endeavor!  We can motivate each other and see our growth and progress throughout the year.  I’ll number each one of the photos that I consider as part of this challenge so you can keep track along with me.

Here are the first three photographs, which were taken on my new year’s day hike:

Happy New Year!  Take that camera and get outside!

Leave a Reply

