Androloma maccullochii

I just discovered that I do, in fact, have a moth picture to share during National Moth Week!  I had forgotten about it since it’s a diurnal moth and also since this picture was one of those one-shot-wonders where I was able to take a single picture before my subject flew away.  This picture was taken at the beginning of June this summer at the Sagehen Field Station near Truckee, California in the Sierras.

It took me a little bit to identify this beautiful little creature, but I’m now pretty confident that it’s Androloma maccullochii, Macculloch’s Forester.  Initially, I thought this was Riding’s Forester, Alypia ridingsi based on the three white marks on the forewing and two white marks on the hind wing.  But based on photographs, it just didn’t seem quite right, so I looked to see what other similar species it could possibly be and then I came across Androloma maccullochii.  A. maccullochii has three white marks on the forewing and two white marks on the hind wing along with as bugguide describes hairy yellowish “shoulder pads”, which the moth in my photograph has.  Bingo!

You can see a comparison between the two here.  It also appears that A. maccullochii has the basal antennomeres ringed with white and if you look very, very closely you can see that this is true for the specimen pictured here as well.  I feel pretty good about the ID, but of course moths aren’t my speciality, so if you think I’m wrong, please let me know!  Hope that you’re enjoying National Moth Week!

Leave a Reply

